OpenWorld Learning is fortunate to have the guidance of very supportive, hands-on board members, who are represented in the following groups – Board of Directors, Advisory Board, and Emeritus Board.

Board of Directors

2016 Board Officers

Chairman – Jonathan Gear is Executive Vice President of Resources and Transportation for IHS Markit, including business lines supporting the automotive, energy, chemicals, maritime and aerospace industries. Earlier, he served in multiple Senior Vice President positions and as President/COO of IHS CERA. Jonathan previously held leadership positions at Activant Solutions, and Booz Allen Hamilton. He holds a B.A. from the University of California, Berkeley and an MBA from Stanford Graduate School of Business.

anniegVice Chairman
–  Annie Grenier Wright is VP of Business Development at Integrated People Solutions. She brings 20+ years of experience within the human capital space. Throughout her career she has focused on helping companies meet their business plans through workforce solutions and attracting and hiring the right people. She believes in building strong relationships and simply doing what you say you will do. She has sold across most industries, which include technology, engineering, telecommunications, advanced manufacturing, life sciences, financial/banking and energy.

lindseySecretary – Lindsay Silber is the Intellectual Property Attorney at Holland & Hart, LLP.  She has particular experience in structuring, drafting and negotiating trademark, copyright, patent, and software license agreements and other commercial agreements related to intellectual property. She also advises businesses in the treatment of intellectual property in corporate transactions, including acquisitions, sales, joint ventures, investments, and financings, and has deep expertise in the use of intellectual property as collateral. Ms. Silber works with clients in a wide range of industries, including technology, communications, hospitality, food and beverage, and entertainment, among others. Lindsay joined Holland & Hart in 2012 after working at large international law firms in New York for eight years. She attended Cornell Law School.

tim-beranekTreasurer – Timothy A. Beranek is the Principal, Senior Investment Analyst for Cambiar Investors and has over 24 years of investment experience.  Mr. Beranek is responsible for company coverage in the energy and basic materials sectors.  Prior to joining Cambiar in 1999, he worked at Resources Trust, where he oversaw financial controls for the company’s mutual fund trading relationships.  Tim began his investment career at Merrill Lynch after receiving a Masters in Finance from the University of Colorado and a BS in Economics from the University of South Dakota.

2017 Board Members

Charlie Coglianese
Founder & Chief Data Wizard

Cheryl Flink
Community Volunteer

Kim Hudelson
VP of Client Solutions
Credere Group

Lisa Jasper
Thought Ensemble

John Keenan
United Launch Alliance

Kendrick McLish
VP, Product Marketing and Strategy, Global Higher Education

Alfonso Rosabal
Community Volunteer

Jo Ruder
Community Volunteer

Alexie Tune

Brett Wilhelm
Managing Member
East African Social Impact Fund, LLC

Gloria Zamora
President and Chief Executive Officer
Success Innovators, Inc.

Advisory Board

The Honorable Terrance Carroll
Butler Snow LLP

Richard Garcia
Executive Director
Colorado Statewide Parent Coalition

Maria Guajardo, PhD.
Dean, International Liberal Arts Program
Soka University

Elsa Holguin
Senior Program Officer
Rose Community Foundation

Tim Marquez
Chief Executive Officer
Venoco, Inc.

Dan Ritchie
Chairman Emeritus
University of Denver

Chris Romer
American Honors

Gail Breslow
Intel Computer Clubhouse Network

Rick Burnes
Charles River Ventures

David Cavallo
Research Scientist, Future of Learning

Seymour Papert  (1928-2016)
Professor of Education and Media Technology, Emeritus

The Honorable Federico Peña
Managing Director
Vestar Capital Partners

Mitchel Resnick
Lego Papert Professor of Learning Research

Emeritus Board

Mary Chavez

Cindy Peña

Jim Polsfut

Todd Siler


OWL would like to recognize these individuals for their powerful impact & tremendous contributions to OWL.

Dean Abrams (1956-2013), 2011-2013
Steve Halstedt2000-2016
Chris Myers, Founder
Seymour Papert
(1928-2016), 2000-2016